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Business Name     Business Phone    

Business Address     Business Contact    

Inspection Date     Inspector     Inspection Number (circle one):  1  /   2  /   3  /   4  /   5 

Name of PBR Unit  

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

************************************************************************************************************************* 
 

PERMIT BY RULE (PBR) 
 

Mountain View City Code and State law require compliance with all items marked under the "V" column: 
 

  Violation Regulatory  
V OK Code Class Citation Health and Safety Code (H&SC) and Title  22 of the California Code of Regulations (22CCR) 

  TP-1.1 (II) CCR 

67450.2(b) 

67450.13(b) 

Notification—The generator shall complete and  submit a notification to the 

Mountain View Fire Department at least 60 d ays before start of treatment 

operation.  This includes the following properly completed  documents: 

 On-site Hazardous Waste Treatment Notification—Facility Page; 

 On-site Hazardous Waste Treatment Notification—Unit Page and  

attachments; 

 Certification of Financial Assurance for PBR and  CA On -Site Treaters; 

 Documentation that the facility operator has notified  the property 

owner of the operation of the fixed  treatment unit (FTU); and  

 Corrective action documentation required  by CCR 66450.7. 

 

  TP-3.1 (II) CCR 

67450.2(b) 

67450.3(c)(2) 

PBR Notification Resubmittal—The notification and  all related  documenta-

tion must be submitted  to the Mountain View Fire Department annually or 

whenever there is a change to the information in the most recent notification.  

 

  TP-1.3  CCR 

66450.3(c)(6) 

 

On-Site Generation—All wastes treated  must have been generated  on -site. 

 

  TP-1.4  CCR 

67450.3(c)(4) 
Eligible Wastes and Processes—Types of waste and  treatment method s 

must be appropriate for the tier. 

 

  TP-3.2  CCR 

67450.7 
Corrective Action—Corrective action must be implemented  as necessary for 

all releases of hazardous waste or constituents regard less of the time the 

waste was placed  in the unit. 

 

  TP-3.3 (M) CCR 

67450.3(c)(7) 
Marking—The exterior of each treatment unit must be marked  with: 

 The name of the person/ facility (i.e., legal entity) that owns the 

tank/ unit; 

 The facility's EPA ID number; and  

 The tank/ unit's ind ivid ual serial number. 
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  Violation Regulatory  
V OK Code Class Citation Health and Safety Code (H&SC) and Title  22 of the California Code of Regulations (22CCR) 

  TP-2.3 (II) CCR 

66264.175 

67450.3(c)(9) 

Secondary Containment—For containers with free liquids and  certain 

RCRA listed  wastes, secondary containment is requ ired .  Secondary 

containment must: 

 Be free of leaks and / or cracks; 

 Not react with any stored  material; 

 Be of sufficient capacity to contain p recipitation from at least a 24-hour, 

25-year storm, plus 10 percent of the aggregate volume of all containers 

or the volume of the largest container, whichever is greater; 

 Protect containers from contact w ith accumulated  liquid ; and  

 The facility must submit a written statement signed  by an independent 

qualified  professional engineer ind icating that the second ary contain -

ment is designed  and  constructed  accord ingly. 

(Exception:  Containers with solid hazardous waste do not need secondary contain-

ment if containers are protected from accumulated liquid.) 

 

  TP-2.4  CCR 

66450.3(c)(5) 
Management of Effluent/Residuals—Treatment resid uals must be managed  

properly. 

 

  TP-2.5 (M) CCR 

66265.14 

67450.3(c)(9) 

Security—For facilities where any unknowing and/ or unauthorized  entry 

could  cause injury or a violation, the following must be provided : 

 A 24-hour surveillance system which continuously monitors and  

controls entry onto the facility or artificial/ natural barrier with a means 

to control entry onto the facility; and  

 Signs stating, "DANGER HAZARDOUS WASTE AREA—

UNAUTHORIZED PERSONNEL KEEP OUT," or equivalent. 

 

  TP-1.7 (M) CCR 

66265.15 

67450.3(c)(9) 

Inspection Schedule and Log—The following inspection requirements must 

be met: 

 The generator must develop and  implement a written inspection sched -

ule for monitoring equ ipment, safety and  emergency equipment, 

security devices, and  operating and  structural equipment.  It must 

ind icate: 

  Types of problems to be looked  for (e.g., inoperative pumps, etc.); 

and  

  Frequency of inspection. 

 Inspection records must include: 

  Date and  time of the inspection; 

  Name of the inspector; 

  Observations made during the inspection; and  

  Date and  nature of any repairs or remedial action. 

 Inspection records must be retained  for a period  of three (3) years. 

 

  TP-3.4 (M) CCR 

67450.3(c)(9) 
Waste Analysis Plan—A written waste analysis plan must be developed  

and  implemented .  At a minimum, the plan must contain the following 

information: 

 Parameters to be analyzed  and  rationale for selection of those 

parameters; 

 Test methods to be used  in the analyses; 

 Sampling methods to be used  to obtain a representative sample; and  

 Frequency of analysis. 
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  Violation Regulatory  
V OK Code Class Citation Health and Safety Code (H&SC) and Title  22 of the California Code of Regulations (22CCR) 

  TP-3.5 (M) CCR 

66265.73(b) 

67450.3(c)(8) 

67450.3(c)(9) 

 

PBR Record Keeping—The following records must be maintained  on -site: 

 Waste Analysis Plan; 

 Written Inspection Schedule; 

 Training documents; 

 Contingency Plan; 

 Copy of the most recent notification; 

 Copy of the most recent acknowledgment received  from the Mountain 

View Fire Department; 

 Copy of all permits required  for the operation of the treatment unit 

(e.g., from BAAQMD, POTW, etc.); 

 Closure Plan; 

 Corrective Action documentation (e.g., investigations, cleanup, 

abatement, etc.); and  

 Documentation of any convictions, judgments, settlements or orders by 

any local, State or Federal agency concerning the operation of the 

facility within the last three (3) years. 

 

The following operating records must be kept until closure of the facility: 

 Description and  quantity of hazard ous waste received  and  the 

method(s) and  d ate(s) of its transfer, treatment or d isposal at the 

facility; 

 Records and  resu lts of waste analyses; and  

 Reports and  details of incid ents requiring Contingency Plan 

implementation. 

 

  TP-2.7 (II) CCR 

67450.13 
Financial Assurance—Financial assurance for closure of treatment units 

must be provided  as follows: 

 The facility must prepare a written estimate of the cost of closing the 

unit; 

 The closure cost estimate must be ad justed  for inflation by March  1 of 

each year; 

 The closure cost estimate must be revised  whenever a change occurs 

that increases the cost of closure; and  

 Financial assurance for closure for each treatment unit must be 

obtained  through one or more of the following methods: 

  Closure trust fund; 

  Surety bond  guaranteeing payment into a closure trust fund; 

  Closure letter of cred it; 

  Closure insurance; 

  Financial test and  corporate guarantee for closure; 

  Alternative financial mechanism for closure costs; and  

  Self-Certification, if the closure cost estimate is less than  $10,000. 

 A copy of the latest closure cost estimate and  ad justed  estimate must be 

maintained  at the facility d uring the operating life of the facility.  
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  Violation Regulatory  
V OK Code Class Citation Health and Safety Code (H&SC) and Title  22 of the California Code of Regulations (22CCR) 

  TP-2.8 (M) H&SC 

25200.14(b)(1) 
Phase I Assessment—The owner/ operator of the facility must complete and  

file a Phase I environmental assessment within one (1) year of receiving the 

permit.  Any upd ate must be filed  during the next regular reporting period .  

 

(Exceptions:  This requirement does not apply to facilities which conducted or are 

conducting a site assessment in accordance with an order issued by a State or 

Federal law enforcement agency, or conducted an assessment for other purposes 

within three (3) years prior to the submittal date.) 

 

  TP-1.9  H&SC 

25202.9 
Waste Minimization Certification—The generator must prepare an annual 

hazardous waste minimization certification which states that a program has 

been established  to reduce the quantity or toxicity of hazard ous waste to a 

degree that is economically feasible, and  that waste treatment, storage and  

d isposal is performed in accordance with that program. 

 

  TP-1.10 (II) CCR 

67450.3(c) 
Closure—Closure of treatment units must be managed  as follows: 

 The facility must have a written closure plan which includes: 

  A description of how and  when each unit will be closed ; 

  An estimate of maximum inventory of waste in storage and  in 

treatment at any time during the operation of the unit; 

  Procedures for decontamination of equipment; 

  Expected  year of closure; and  

  Estimated  time requ ired  to close each unit. 

 All hazardous waste must be removed  within ninety (90) d ays after last 

waste treatment. 

 All closure activities must be completed  within one hundred  eighty 

(180) days after treating the final volume of hazardous waste. 

 The Mountain View Fire Department must be notified  at least fifteen 

(15) days prior to completion of closure. 

 After completion of closure, a certification signed  by the owner or 

operator and  by an independent professional engineer must be 

submitted  to the Mountain View Fire Department. 

 

 

Explanation/ Comments: 
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 A reinspection shall be conducted  in two weeks.  Additional inspections after the first reinspection are 

billed  at $79.00/ hour and may be subject to civil and/ or criminal penalties. 

 

 All violations have been corrected .  Thank you. 

 

OCCUPANT'S SIGNATURE    

 
For office use only: 

  Routine Inspection   Reinspection   Referral   Combined Inspection  Joint Inspection  Multimedia Inspection 

 


